The Doge Palace incorporates the whole glorious history of the Venetian Republic. Little is known about its origins and architects. It is assumed that the Doges Angelo Partecipazio und Giustianio Partecipazio made this magnificent palace the Doges´ headquarter and official residence towards the end of the 9th Century. No evidence has remained from the original construction.
In its present form the palace largely dates back to 1340. The architects Filippo Calendario and Pietro Baseio were charged with its construction.